top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesse Yuan

Blogs for out-class activities


In this summer of 2018, I read the book A Path Appears, which talks about all kinds of is social issues around the world. From this book, I learned all kinds of issues that I never have the chance to see and learn in the past and to realize that some of them are much more severe than what I think it is.



Reflection of the book


There are a lot of elements I like about The Path Appears which I find interesting. At the beginning of the book, the author cited a saying from one of the most well known Chinese witter. This attracted me a lot and evoked my interests in reading this book. This not only provides a good hook for the readers but also linked very well with the main idea of the book which is showing all the changes that are happening and improving the issues. Moving into the book itself, The path Appears contains a lot of specific stories which are often interesting. In these stories, there are all kinds of people with different race, social classes and from different countries making contributions to the society, and these examples provide great support to tell the readers that all kinds of people can make a difference to the world if they want to. There are chapters in the book that specifically talked about Charities and Organizations. These chapters and the index contains a lot of valuable information that can direct people the steps of starting a Charity or listing organizations that they can join. Unlike so many other books which only talks about the issue and never put in what we can do, the path appears actually provides information and directs readers step by step to help.

Even though this is a really good book, there is also some deficiency in it. For example, there are too many stories in the book, and some of them have similar stories. After I finish the book, I can hardly remember most of the stories and many of the events blend together. After I read the book, I also watched the documentary online, and it gives me a different feeling. In my opinion, if the book can have fewer stories but instead to focus on some of the specific stories and to talk about it more detail, the readers will definitely remember it for a long time and the different aspect of the story will have more impact than just a lot of small stories.

Although I know the world is not perfect, I never know that there are that much issues in the world, and some of them are just happening next to us. I was really worried and scared at first, but as the story moves on, I saw people dedicating even in the poorest region on earth, and this brings me hopes for the future. I truly know that this is not going to be changed by a few persons because this is a global issue, and that is why we are talking about it in the classroom of Global Study. Only everyone on this planet decides to help out, issues like poverty, sex trafficking can actually be solved. Since I started to realize issues around the world, in the future I will definitely help out more and to contribute even the smallest amount of action I can.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page